Friday, December 27, 2013


Romance Through the Ages
Coming February 1, 2014
Romance through the Ages brings you SEVEN NOVELS from 7 bestselling authors (including New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon bestsellers). Join us for a fabulous collection.
*7 Romance Novels, 7 Bestselling Authors, 1 Amazing Price*
99 cent Romance Boxed Set for a limited time only!
Running Barefoot by NY Times & USA Today bestselling author Amy Harmon!— Deeply romantic and poignant, Running Barefoot is the story of a small town girl and a Native American boy, the ties that bind them to their homes and families, and the love that gives them wings.
Masquerade by Janette Rallison, who has sold more than 1 million books!— It's hard for a woman to keep up the masquerade when her boss is as handsome as Slade Jacobson and the job takes her to Hawaii with him. In between handling his whirlwind four-year-old daughter and dealing with a whole cast of Hollywood personalities, Clarissa has to keep a tight hold on her heart.
The Reluctant Bachelorette by Rachael Anderson, Amazon Bestseller!—Unknowingly cast as the bachelorette for her town's charity event, Shelter’s Bachelorette, Taycee Emerson is in for the ride of her life. Especially when she discovers her old teenage crush, Luke Carney, is one of the bachelors and it's up to the viewers—not her—to decide which bachelors stay or go.
Pride and Precipitation by Heather Horrocks, Amazon Bestseller!— Breezy Jones is crazy about the weather, rain or shine, which makes her job as the local television station’s meteorologist perfect. That’s before she meets the attractive new general manager, Noah Drake, who is determined to repackage everything—including Breezy’s down-home delivery.
My Own Mr. Darcy by Karey White, Amazon Bestseller!— Lizzie falls hard for Matthew Macfadyen’s Mr. Darcy character and makes a promise to herself that she will settle for nothing less than her own Mr. Darcy. When she meets two men, Chad—a science teacher, and Matt Dawson—who looks and acts like Mr. Darcy, she’s forced to re-evaluate what it was she loved about Mr. Darcy in the first place.
She Owns the Knight by Diane Darcy, Amazon Bestseller!— Why does Gillian Corbett have to travel seven hundred years through time to find a decent guy?... Why can't Sir Kellen Marshall find a lady who is obedient, submissive... or at least not trying to kill him?
Heart of the Ocean by Heather B. Moore, Amazon Bestseller!— A dark secret . . . a grieving ghost . . . a handsome stranger . . . What more could Eliza Robinson want? Except for maybe her life. When Eliza discovers that Jonathan Porter’s dark secrets may be the link between the dead woman who haunts her and her aunt’s murderer, Eliza realizes that Jonathan is the one man she should never trust.
Giveaway Details
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 2/1/14
Bloggers who put up a spotlight post about these books on their blog can enter to win an additional $25 gift card or paypal cash. See details in the Rafflecopter.
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the authors.
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Book Title: Reality: The Life of Arie series (book 1)
Author: Dani Hart
Genre: YA (mature 15+) Urban Fantasy Romance
Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

I am Arie Belle and up until my mother’s unexpected and mysterious death my life had been pretty simple, but then things became dark and, at times, hopeless. Even my uncanny ability to communicate with nature had turned its back on me. My only saving grace is my lifetime friendship with the boy next door, River, whom I had always thought of as my soul mate up until my eighteenth birthday when everything seemed to change. My body tingles with heightened sensations and my emotions veer out of control. They are further tested when Ashe, a beautiful stranger with a powerful draw, enters my life and challenges my heart and soul. Amidst the rush of feelings after years of numbness, my true destiny slowly unravels and my journey to find out what I am, to find my mother’s killer, and stop my own death becomes a frantic rush before the next full moon.
This powerful story encaptures the true meaning of love and the dark corners of life that can either suck you in or save you.


I was given a copy of Reality (The Life of Arie book 1)in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed this book. I was different than what I had read before. Dani Hart had kept my interest from being to the end of the book. I look forward to reading more about Arie's life.

Author Information:
My passion for writing started at a very young age. It started with a multitude of diaries as soon as I could, then poetry, then short stories. I received my BA at USC in Theatre with an unofficial minor in writing. While at USC I wrote my first screenplay and post-graduation I was hired to write another screenplay, which I did successfully. Life got busy again and my passion was pushed aside, but then I met an amazing person who loved my story and encouraged me to start writing again. With that said, I am in a happier place now. I am fulfilling my inner desire and passion to write. I just self-published book one in The Life of Aries series and am currently working on book two. I am also working on an adult dark romance.

Social Media Links:
Facebook URL:
Twitter URL: @authordanihart
Goodreads Author URL:
Goodreads Book Link URL:

Buy Links:
Barnes & Nobles:

Book Enthusiast Promotions


Title: Que Sera Sera 
Author: Katija O 
Hosted by: Forever Me Romance 

After spending her whole eleventh grade in love with Dean, without as much as a goodbye he leaves for a new life overseas.  Breaking Kaylah’s heart.

Believing that a fresh start would be the best remedy to cure her heartbreak she enrols at her local community College where she’d hoped to move forward from her old life and have a fresh start with new surroundings and new people.

When the first day of school arrived all of her plans came to a halt when Dean walked back into her life without warning.  Was this what she wanted?  Could she go through this again and lose another year?

Enter Josh … he seemed to be everything that she had dreamed of and more, could he be the one to fill the void that Dean had left, helping her move on?
Or could she rekindle what she had with Dean … maybe taking things further this time?

 Not to stray from the common Author cliché, I loved to read as a child – I actually excelled in reading from a young age.  This was definitely to my advantage.  In saying that I only enjoyed reading “happily ever after stories.”

As I grew older my pleasures turned to “teen romance stories” with the obvious transition being heavy love stories and of course Jackie Collins’ novels.

Then due to relationship and work commitments my reading all but ceased until my children were at an age where I could steal and hour or two (which then became and hour or four). 

A few years ago I discovered the Twilight Saga, this kept my thoroughly entertained for years as I read and re-read numerous times… Enter 50 Shades.

Whilst I was a little fearful to read this erotic tale, something tugged at my inner thoughts and I succumbed, like everyone around me falling for the likes of one Christian Grey. 

I continued from that moment reading many many stories and getting involved with Indie Authors from around the globe – something then happened to me.  I awoke one Saturday morning with a whole story fixed in my mind.  This had happened to me a lot over the years but this story was so clear and concise and I acted on in with the inspiration of the Indie Authors.

That’s when my first novel Majestic Pearls was born – it has grown from there and is a beautifully work in progress.  In the interim, I wrote my current story, a novella entitled Que Sera Sera.

When I'm not at my desk, I'm reading – beta reading, or just plain reading.  As a full time mother and wife my life is very full.  My other passion, other than writing and family is Music … music from yesteryear is my genre.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, December 26, 2013

NAUGHTY AND NICE TOUR by Siren and Monica Garry-Allen


Title – Christmas Fantasy
Author – Siren Allen
Genre – Erotic Paranormal Romance
Publication Date – 12/9/13
Length (Pages/# Words) – 44k
Publisher – Entranced Publishing  


Book Blurb/Synopsis –
One bite was all it took.

 It’s that time of year again. Alyssa Blakely is busy writing in her fantasy diary, filling it with all her forbidden, sexual fantasies. The star: her very sexy boss, Devin Jordan. Too bad for her, he’s never given her a second glance. 

 Or so she thought… 

 After a steamy kiss under the mistletoe and a night of wild sex, Alyssa has the bite to prove just how wrong she was. 

Devin Jordan has found his mate. The only problem: she’s human. He’s not. Can he prove to her that his inner beast can be both naughty and nice? Or will her fear of the unknown keep him from claiming her?


Christmas Fantasy Excerpt
Devin took a deep, calming breath. Alyssa was off limits. Even if she were single and interested in him, he still couldn’t have her. It was too risky. She made him feel things he wasn’t used to. He didn’t know if he could handle touching her without hurting her.
Hurting Alyssa was something he would never do. He would just have to endure her presence. He would take pleasure in the shy smiles she cast his way every now and again. He would enjoy the laughs they shared while working late some evenings. He would maintain the professional relationship they had, even though he yearned for a taste of her.
Devin turned and placed his back against the window. He stared at the door that separated him from the woman he desired. A piece of metal and space was all that separated his body from hers. It would only take a couple of strides for him to reach the door.
One pull on the door knob and he could send it flying across the room. Then he would be face to face with the one woman in this world that made him wish he wasn’t a beast with a conscience. If he had no conscience, he would take her, now, against his desk, against her desk, against the wall, on every damn hard surface in this building.
He would make sure she enjoyed it. He would make sure he pleased her so thoroughly that she wouldn’t even think of leaving him, even when she found out that he was not the man he pretended to be. Devin sighed, but that would never happen. Because though he was a beast, he did indeed have a conscience
That conscience kept her safe from him… for now.


Title – Christmas Confusion
Series – Bailey’s chaotic life
Author – Monica Garry-Allen
Genre – New Adult/Contemporary Romance
Publication Date – 12/08/13
Length (Pages/# Words) - 44,580
Publisher – Front Porch Romance
Cover Artist – Monica Garry-Allen  

ChristmasConfusionCover-Final1600 logo

Book Blurb/Synopsis – 
Can two people be any more confused than Bailey and Max?

Bailey Cooper is very much attracted to her neighbor Max Davis. Unfortunately for Bailey, Greg – Max’s lover is slowly becoming one of Bailey’s best friends. Bailey’s emotions are torn; she adores Greg’s friendship while at the same time she craves Max’s touch. What is a girl to do when she ‘thinks’ the man she's in love with is in love with someone else? 

Max Davis and his baby brother Greg Davis are co-owners of the apartment building they live in. Max has fallen for his tenant, Bailey, but she avoids and ignores all of his advances. Max becomes suspicious of the friendship blooming between Greg and Bailey. He believes Bailey has a crush on his brother but Max wants Bailey all to himself. Now he has to think of ways to keep Bailey and Greg apart. 

Will a holiday weekend full of chaos, confusion and a little bit of charm finally get Bailey and Max on the right track? Or will a few innocent caresses lead to more Christmas confusion?


Christmas Confusion Excerpt
Max scooted back on the couch, he reached toward Bailey, eyes straying to her legs. Even though she wore jeans, he still pictured her legs bare, like they were when she jumped on his counter.
Her eyes widened as his hand came closer and closer. Max leaned forward, stretching his arm even closer to her body, he ached to touch her. His fingertips itched for a chance to slide down her body. As he moved closer, he heard her inhale deeply and he couldn’t escape the erotic images that flowed through his mind. Oh, the sounds I could cause her to make, if she would give me the chance.
Max continued edging forward, until his fingers wrapped around what he was reaching for. He picked the remote control up and moved back to his side of the couch. His hand shook slightly. Bailey exhaled. The sound sent chills over his body. Max pointed the remote at the television and pressed play.
He cleared his throat. “Do you want to start from the beginning or do you want me to find the last scene you watched?”
Max waited on her to answer but all he heard was the sound of her breathing. He kept his eyes straight forward, fearing the sight of her chest rising and falling would be his downfall. She took so long to answer that he forgot what his question was.
“Whatever you want,” she whispered, and his gut clenched. Max pressed pause.
What was his question? For the life of him, he couldn’t remember what he’d asked her. But her answer ‘whatever you want’ was the answer he craved. A thousand questions raced through his head, ‘Bailey, what do you want me to do to you with my tongue?’ Her answer of ‘whatever you want’ would be perfect for that question. ‘Bailey, what do you want me to do to you with my hands?’
Whatever you want would be the perfect answer to that question. But none of those were the question she was answering. What had he asked her?
“Or we could just watch television,” she said. “We don’t have to watch the movie, I know it’s a chick flick and you may not like it.”
Oh yeah, the movie. “No, no, we can watch the movie.” Get it together, Max.
“Okay,” Bailey smiled and snuggled further into the comforter. His comforter, the one he would sleep under later on tonight. The comforter that would have her sweet scent on it until he decided to wash it, ifhe decided to wash it. Get it together, now, Max.
Max cleared his throat again. He felt like his t-shirt was getting tighter, choking him. Max found it hard to swallow. “We can just watch it from the beginning. How long is this movie anyway?” he asked her.
“It’s a short movie, about an hour long.”
He would have an hour in her company, an hour with her sitting within arms-reach of him, an hour of sweet torture and he would enjoy every minute of it.
“Can I have a little cover?” he asked her.
“Sure, here.” Bailey leaned forward pushing some of the comforter his way.
“Thanks,” Max told her, before draping the cover over his legs and pressing play. The first scene of the movie came on. Bailey’s eyes were glued to the television screen. Making good use of his peripheral vision, Max watched her from the corner of his eyes.
He loved watching her smile at the funny scenes and tear up at the sadder ones. Emotion after emotion flitted across her face as she watched the movie. He wondered what kind of emotions he would draw from her if she was underneath him. Would she be as passionate in the bedroom as she was outside of it? Max had a feeling she would be.


Title – Lily’s Naughty Christmas
Series – Secrets of Country Club Circle
Author – Siren Allen
Genre – Erotica
Publication Date – 12/09/13
Length (Pages/# Words) – 14,409 words
Publisher – Secret Cravings Publishing


Book Blurb/Synopsis – 
Twas the night before Christmas and Lily Parks has every intention of having her name on Santa’s naughty list.

Tired of her good girl image, Lily Parks is determined to let her wildest fantasies free, even if it is just for one night. She plans a night of seduction - the only thing missing is her ex-husband Charles and his lover, Paul. She wants them both and she knows just how to get them. 

Charles Henderson is surprised when he receives a call from his ex-wife inviting him and his partner to Christmas dinner, but he can’t deny that her threesome idea is the greatest Christmas present ever. After one night of ecstasy with the two people he loves, he’s determined to make this arrangement permanent. Can the three of them make this love triangle work, or will jealousy destroy the attraction they all feel for one another?


Lily’s Naughty Christmas Excerpt
“Can you lock the door behind you?” she called to them over her shoulder. She heard the lock click. Time for the games to begin.
“Where are the other chairs?” Charles asked when he entered the kitchen.
“There are only three of us tonight, so we only need three chairs,” Lily told him.
He raised his eyebrow but said nothing as he sat in the chair across from her.
“Can you pour me a glass of champagne before you sit down, Paul?” Lily asked her ex-husband’s lover.
Paul was in the middle of sitting down beside Charles when Lily popped her question. He froze, looking from Charles to Lily.
“Uh, sure,” Paul said. “You want some more, buddy?”
“Yeah, whatever,” Charles responded.
Lily smiled. Charles was uncomfortable, she liked that. “If you want something stronger I have vodka in the cabinet. You forgot to take it with you when you left.”
Paul filled her glass with champagne then sat down. Charles stood up and walked over to the cabinet, pulling a bottle of Grey Goose out. He filled his wine glass with the clear liquid. Lily smiled as he drank it down with one gulp then refilled the glass. At this rate he would be drunk before they even began.
Lily stood up and walked over to the stove. “Let me serve you two.”
Behind her both men coughed, choking on their beverages. Lily took the lid off the pot containing the dressing.
“It smells good Lily, thanks for having us over.” Charles voice sounded a bit strained but not strained enough.
“You’re welcome.” Lily walked over to her ex and bent over him to pick up his plate. Her breasts were right in his face, her ass right in Paul’s face. She picked up the plate and took it to the counter and began filling it with dressing, turkey, greens and candied yams.
She carried Charles his plate. “Enjoy,” she whispered before picking up Paul’s plate and filling it. When she was done serving both men she returned to her seat and began to drink from her glass.
“You’re not going to eat?” Charles asked around a mouthful of food.
Soon his mouth would be full of her. Lily shivered, and both men stopped eating. They stared at her.
“If I don’t watch this figure, no one will,” Lily told them. She took another sip of her drink, enjoying the way she had them squirming in their seats.
This whole seduction thing was easier than she thought. Lily licked her lips. Paul swallowed. Charles stared down into his plate. If Lily wanted a threesome she was going to have to make the first move.
“You two should hurry up with your dinner, I have a present for the two of you in my bedroom.”
Lily stood up. She pushed her chair under the table and grabbed her glass.
“I’ll be waiting,” she whispered before she turned and sashayed away. Her whole body trembled with nervousness. She’d done her part, she’d put the offer on the table. It was now up to them to pick it up and run with it.
Lily walked upstairs to her room. She sat her glass on her nightstand and pulled her dress over her head. She had to wiggle a bit to get the tight-fitting garment off. Lily put her dress back on a hanger and hung it in the closet. She sat on her bed and resumed sipping her drink. All she could do now was wait for them to join her.


Siren Allen is a writer and lover of all things erotic and romantic. She resides in southern Mississippi where she writes steamy romances that are guaranteed to make you blush. When she’s not listening to the characters in her head and jotting down their adventures, she’s busy working as a Clinical Laboratory Technician.

Her weekends are spent writing and having sleep-over’s for her wonderful nieces and nephews. She loves to travel, preferably with her husband, so he can do all of the driving. She enjoys time with her family, who are just as silly as she is. She doesn’t have any children…yet! Her hobbies are reading, writing and shopping, though she hates trying on clothing. If she wasn’t a writer or a Laboratory Professional, she swears she would be a Secret Agent. But that’s the beauty of being a writer; you can create your own world and be whoever you want to be. In her imaginary world she is Queen and her siblings are her minions.


Monica Garry-Allen has loved reading for as long as she can remember. As a child her mother always purchased books for her at her school’s book fair. Back then her favorite book was The Little Mermaid. Now days she reads and tells stories to her nieces and nephews during her weekend sleepovers. Monica is a full time Clinical Laboratory Scientist. When she is not working in the lab she’s writing humorous love stories and steamy romances. She recently married the man of her dreams, Dempsey Allen, who motivates her to be the best writer she can be. She has a loving family who supports her one hundred percent and friends who can’t wait to read her next story. She resides in the southern part of Mississippi where she enjoys shopping, reading, writing and spending time with her family.


1- Ecopy of Christmas Confusion by Monica Garry-Allen
2- Ecopy of The Makeover by Monica Garry-Allen
3- Ecopy of Lily’s Naughty Christmas by Siren Allen
4- Ecopy of Christmas Fantasy by Siren Allen
5- Ecopy of Lovers Unchained by Siren Allen
6- Ecopy of Yours For Now by Siren Allen
7- $10.00 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

**Review** MIKE'S WAY BACK (FINDING PERFECT #1) by Amy Gregory

Title: Mike’s Way Back (Finding Perfect #1)

Author: Amy Gregory

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: September 30, 2013

Cover Designed By: Davis Snodgrass

Event organized by: Literati Author Services, Inc.


Detective Mike Sterling walked away from his dream job telling himself it was to honor the promise he’d made his mother, while lying in a Chicago emergency room. A year later, he’s still fighting the demons that followed him back to his boyhood town.

Taryn Watts is an award-winning designer, going from project to project, living from a suitcase. Her plan for Renlend Kansas was the same as always. Go in, get the job done and get out, just the way she likes it. Growing up as a cop’s daughter, her every move was controlled. When she escaped to college she vowed to never fall in love with a cop –ever. Until she found herself sitting across from the ruggedly handsome stranger. Looking into Mike’s ice blue eyes they pulled her, called to her, but there was a haunting in them she knew too well.

Mike is drawn to Taryn, her passion for her work and her stunning beauty left him breathless, but what surprises him most is the peace he feels when he’s near her. Maybe it’s because Taryn is a temporary addition to his town and his secret is safe, or maybe it’s because she makes him feel safe. Mike knows he can’t keep up this charade and when Taryn moves to Renlend for an extended stay he can’t hide the truth any longer.

Can Taryn forget he’s a cop and give him her heart, or will his demons drive them apart?

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Barnes & Noble


I was given a copy of Mike's Way Back-Finding Perfect by Amy Gregory in exchange of an honest review. I really enjoyed this. Mike a single guy is at his friends Tavern when he saw this beautiful woman who he was later introduce to as Taryn. "Watching" Mike getting beat in his own game is really funny. Mike being jealous over someone Taryn was talking to and he just met her was really funny when he found out that it was Andrew someone Taryn worked with. Mike hadn't thought of his ex wife in so long it was hard to remember he was married. When he looked at Taryn he pushed his thoughts of his ex wife out of this mind like the theme song of "The Wizard of Oz" That part was funny to me cause it reminded me of a lady that used to ride her bike and looked just like the lady in the Wizard of Oz. When Mike took Tayrn on a tour through the town the author Amy Gregory made it all sound like HEAVEN. To Taryn it was Paradise. I also like how Amy puts in "Don't judge a book by its cover. In the bookstore of all places." I laughed at that. I really enjoyed this book. Kept me interested from beginning to the end.

About the Author

When asked ‘when do you have time to write’, Amy Gregory simply laughs. The real answer is, “in bits and pieces”. She and her husband live in Kansas City with their three fantastic kids that keep them running in three very different directions. Because she sits so much, she always carries a notebook with her at all times.

She has an off the wall, snarky, off the cuff sense of humor that often shocks even those who’ve known her for years. And she loves that her children have all been blessed that ability to make others laugh as well. At least she’s grateful most of the time! Her husband often teases her about how she “makes this stuff up” when he’s reading a piece of her work. … The answer—“it just comes to me when I’m typing”. Scary thought, huh!

Connect with the Author: Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads

Tour-Wide Giveaway

Tuesday, December 24, 2013


Net Riders Cover
adventure/science fiction novel for middle graders.
Synopsis: When Zane and Megan crack the Secnet, they stumble across Project Net Rider. It’s an awesome Cyber Warfare program with a virtual netbike to infiltrate any computer in the new global network. But the software is dangerous—and in the wrong hands—capable of unlimited destruction. So when the notorious Haxta steals a copy, the entire world is threatened. And the two hackers have to risk everything to stop him.
Giorgio Marino Giorgio Marino has degrees in Engineering and Business and has worked in Technical, Sales and Marketing roles all over Australia. He has travelled extensively around the world to research his novels, and now lives in Adelaide, South Australia with his wife and two young children. His main interests are reading, writing, movies, illustrating, web design, travel and of course, exploring playgrounds. He writes full time and when not running after children, is working on a new novel. Net Riders is his first published book.

Sunday, December 22, 2013


Title: Under Different Stars (Kricket #1)

Author: Amy A. Bartol

Genre: YA Dystopian


Book Blurb:

All she wants is a home, but can she find one...UNDER DIFFERENT STARS

Kricket Hollowell is normally not one to wish upon stars; she believes they’re rarely in her favor. Well versed at dodging caseworkers from Chicago’s foster care system, the past few years on her own have made Kricket an expert at the art of survival and blending in. With her 18th birthday fast approaching, she dreams of the day when she can stop running and find what her heart needs most: a home.

Trey Allairis hates Earth and doubts that anyone from his world can thrive here. What he’s learning of Kricket and her existence away from her true home only confirms his theory. But, when he and Kricket lie together under the stars of Ethar, counting them all may be easier than letting her go.

Kyon Ensin’s secrets number the stars; he knows more about Kricket's gifts than anyone and plans to possess her because of them. He also knows she’s more valuable than any fire in the night sky. He’ll move the heavens and align them all in order to make her his own.

When everything in their world can be broken, will Kricket rely upon love to save her under different stars?


Water swirls around me as I open my eyes. I shiver, realizing I’m in Trey’s arms. He’s standing chest deep in crystal blue water with Wayra pacing on the bank only steps away. Clutching Trey closer to me, my cheek remains on his shoulder. Watching a bead of water slip down his powerful neck, I hear Jax say, “She’s waking up.”

Trey, cupping his hand in the water, pours some of it over my hair. It drips down the sides of my face, cooling me. “Let’s get her out. I’ll get the visor and we can check her vitals.”

As Trey wades out of the pond with me in his arms, I try to lift my head from his shoulder. It makes me dizzy so I lay it back. It’s then I notice that I’m only in my bra and underwear. A blush creeps into my cheeks as I hug Trey tighter to me. Wayra meets us on the bank, draping a blanket over us. Trey sits down with me on his lap. He leans against a tree trunk holding me securely to his chest. Peeking at his face, he seems angry as he smoothes my hair back from my face.

Hurrying over with the visor that looks like grandma goggles, Trey sets them on my eyes. Everything is green as I gaze around at the water in front of us. Flashing green lights and readouts occupy the peripherals of the glasses, but the information is running faster than I can possibly read it.

“Ho!” Jax exclaims next to me.

Immediately, Trey’s arms tighten on me as he barks out, “What? How bad is it?”

“Naw, it’s not bad…it’s just…Kricket…” Jax breathes, like he’s in awe. “Look at this brain activity…it’s massive.”

“What do you mean?” Trey asks with relief in his tone.

Jax grins. “She’s lighting everything up. Look at her frontal lobe…it’s off the charts.”

“What does that mean? Is she healthy?” Trey growls.

Jax nods enthusiastically. “She’s healthy! We didn’t fry her with heat stroke, that’s for sure. Or, if we did, she’s got more brain activity than anyone I’ve ever seen to compensate for it,” he replies, sounding seriously geeked about it.

“Those things aren’t broken, are they?” Trey asks speculatively.

“No…here.” Jax pulls them off my face. “Wayra, come here.”

Wayra walks over and Jax puts the glasses on his eyes. “See! He’s normal, well, normal for him. See how it doesn’t light up in these areas?” he points out to Trey.


“Now watch this,” he says, taking the glasses off of Wayra, he places them back on my face. “See? It’s like Christmas in Chicago with all those lights,” Jax says proudly.

“So that means she’s smart?”

Jax beams. “Yeah, she’s smart! She’s brilliant! There’s no telling what she can do.”

“If she’s so smart, why did she run until she almost popped? Why didn’t she just tell us she needed to rest?” Wayra asks derisively.

“Personality flaw,” Trey replies. “She’s going to show us that she’s not weak.”

“She’s sitting right here,” I murmur, pulling the glasses off my face and handing them to Jax.


Under Different Stars (Kricket, #1)Under Different Stars by Amy A. Bartol
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. This was the very first book I have read by Amy A. Bartol. I am very impressed by her writing. She had me from beginning to the end. I like how I felt part of the book actually I felt like I was Kricket and experience all that she was going through. I know I can't wait to read more of Amy's Books. Amy thanks for writing a book that has kept me from beginning to end and feeling like I am in the book it's self. ~~

View all my reviews









I live in Michigan with my husband and our two sons. My family is very supportive of my writing. When I’m writing, they often bring me the take-out menu so that I can call and order them dinner. They listen patiently when I talk about my characters like they’re real. They rarely roll their eyes when I tell them I’ll only be a second while I finish writing a chapter…and then they take off their coats. They ask me how the story is going when I surface after living for hours in a world of my own making. They have learned to accept my “writing uniform” consisting of a slightly unflattering pink fleece jacket, t-shirt, and black yoga pants. And they smile at my nerdy bookishness whenever I try to explain urban fantasy to them. In short, they get me, so they are perfect and I am blessed.


1st place: KINDLE FIRE + ebook of Under Different Stars

2nd place: Kindle Cover + $50 Amazon Gift Card

3rd place: $50 Amazon Gift Card


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Giveaway administered by Amy A. Bartol

Winners will be notified via email and if winner does not respond within 5 days another winner will be selected Amazon ships most Kindle e-readers worldwide, however, it is up to the participant to ensure the country they reside in is listed as one of the countries Amazon ships to. If a winner is selected and Amazon does not ship to their country, another winner will be selected.

Before entering this giveaway please check: To ship Kindle Fire outside the U.S. view important information specific to your country.


Barnes And Noble

Apple iBookstore


Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon Germany

Amazon Italy

Amazon France

Amazon Canada

Amazon Japan

Amazon Spain

Amazon Brazil



Title: Blood on the Tongue: A Cooper & Fry Mystery (Ben Cooper & Diane Fry #3)

Author: Stephen Booth

Genre: Mystery

Publication Date: December 3, 2013

Publisher: Witness Impulse, an Imprint of HarperCollins

Event organized by: Literati Author Services, Inc.


It’s a new year for Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new mysteries to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter.

It isn’t the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lay there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Her death is horrifying -- is it also suspicious?

When two more dead bodies are found, Cooper and Fry begin to wonder if these tragedies are connected, and whether they will survive the winter…

Add to Goodreads:

Purchase Links: Amazon US | Barnes & Noble

About the Author

STEPHEN BOOTH is an award winning British crime writer, the creator of two young Derbyshire police detectives, DC Ben Cooper and DS Diane Fry, who have appeared in twelve novels set in England’s beautiful and atmospheric Peak District.

Stephen has been a Gold Dagger finalist, an Anthony Award nominee, twice winner of a Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel, and twice shortlisted for the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year. Ben Cooper was a finalist for the Sherlock Award for the best detective created by a British author, and in 2003 the Crime Writers’ Association presented Stephen with the Dagger in the Library Award for “the author whose books have given readers the most pleasure”.

The Cooper & Fry series is published all around the world, and has been translated into 15 languages.

Connect with the Author: Twitter | Blog | Goodreads

Blast-Wide Giveaway